I have a Kenyan dream

Without wasting any time, let’s go directly to my dreams.

I have a dream that a time will come when the social security system in Kenya will ensure that every citizen has something to eat even if it means the Government having to give the unemployed some stipend to help them survive.

I dream of a country where every home has access to clean tap water, stable electricity, good security and where everyone dies of old age and not because of preventable and curable ailments.

I dream of a country where road transport will just be one of the options and where time and resource wasting jams will be a thing of the past.

I dream of a country where trying to bribe  a policeman will be insulting at best and will only serve to increase your fine or jail term.

I dream that every household will have a car which they will not need to use due to the efficiency of the public transport.

What? Am I not allowed to dream?

I have been in Chemnitz for around 6 weeks now  and it just hit me that I have never experienced a power blackout, have had access to hot/cold tap water in all the rooms I have visited and have never wasted any time on jams (even though this is only a small city). Don’t get me started on the internet speeds! I get to watch all Arsenal games live with no lags.

Not that anyone here particularly notices how convenient all this is but hey, maybe they are like the child that just has so many toys that he doesn’t know which ones are his favorites.

Whereas both countries rely heavily on their service sectors, Germany has a far much bigger industrial sector that concentrates on making high-end products. You only need to look at all the German cars to understand where I am coming from.

According to economicfreedom.org

Economic freedom is the key to greater opportunity and an improved quality of life. It’s the freedom to choose how to produce, sell, and use your own resources, while respecting others’ rights to do the same.  While a simple concept, economic freedom is an engine that drives prosperity in the world and is the difference between why some societies thrive while others do not.

Kenya has an economic freedom score of 57.1 making it the 111th freest economy in the 2014 index. Compare this with a 73.4 (18th position) score by Germany and only the moststiff-necked would fail to notice the gulf. Any comparison of these two countries is therefore completely unfair.

The question is, how far away are we?

With all this talk of the standard railway gauge, I was left wondering what will happen if we have high-speed electric trains on such unstable power supply. Would I get to Mtito Andei and have to complete the rest of the journey on road due to a maintenance? Kenya Power really needs to get their act together otherwise they risk derailing the biggest project the country has undertaken in the past 50 years.

Sadly, this can be said of so many other sectors.

I hope though that as a country, we can all work towards realizing my dreams.

As Lupita said, dreams are valid irrespective.

Till next time.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

